Skip to content

The semiotics of cake

June 18, 2010
tags:

Alas, due to siblings with exams I’ve been banned from going home during the EAT! NewcastleGateshead festival. Bah humbug. It all sounds very exciting. And I’m missing it.

Perhaps the most exciting event is the Cakebook Flash Mob Picnic, in which the Newcastle skyline is recreated in cake form. No, really. And then on Sunday, at a secret location, the cakes are arranged on a giant ‘edible’ map of the city. Whimsical and tasty, my two favourite things. And I want to go, and I know where it is, and I’m stuck in rainy London doing a dull translation. Bah humbug.

Intriguingly, this picture of the Baltic has become the iconic image of the event. Is it wrong that I can’t help wondering where all the flour has come from, to make this cake, of an art gallery, that used to be a flour mill….?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

