Skip to content

52 New Recipes in 2010 – 14, Pear and Almond Tart

October 7, 2010

We often seem to have a little too much stuff in the veg box to eat comfortably in a week, but I’ve worked out we can get through it all if I make one elaborate fruit-based pudding a week. Currently, I have a large pile of pears and apples staring at me with puppy-dog eyes saying, ‘Please don’t let me go mouldy…. Please…..’ which has reminded me that I made a pear and almond tart back in August and never blogged about it.

It’s from one of the first recipe books I bought, called Grow Organic, Cook Organic – the first half of the book is full of organic gardening advice, and the second half is seasonal recipes. I think I made my own pastry from a recipe off the internet as this one required various health-foody type things such as ‘brown rice flour’, but once you’ve done that you need:

115g butter

115g caster sugar

1 egg, beaten

50g ground rice

50g ground almonds

few drops of almond essence

450g pears, peeled, halved and cored

icing sugar for dusting

Although I’m fairly sure I didn’t use any ground rice either. Anyway, cream the butter and sugar together, gradually add the beaten egg , then fold in almonds, almond essence and ground rice, should you know where to source such a thing. Spoon this into the pastry, then arrange the pears on top. Bake for 40-45 minutes. I believe I served it with some orange cream concotion. There are no photos, because we ate it too quickly.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

