Skip to content

52 New Recipes in 2010 – 16, Apple and Pear Pie

October 10, 2010

I was off work sick today. I lay around feeling sorry for myself until about 6, when I decided some dinner would be nice. Somehow this turned into a huge baking frenzy in order to use up the vast quantity of fruit that has managed to accumulate in our kitchen. In addition to the scones, I also made this apple and pear pie. With a Cheddar cheese crust. Yes, I know – cheese! In a pudding! Radical!

I have  problematic relationship with pie. Essentially (and I’m not sure if this is a weird family quirk or just a coincidence), the only times I’ve ever eaten pie in a family setting have been after funerals. Savoury pie, that is. Consequently, it’s a food I have rather negative associations with.

Sweet pie, on the other hand, holds no such connotations. I would eat it at any opportunity, except that making pastry is a bit of a faff. I had a mental block over pastry for years: even several serious cooks whom I respected said that they thought it was more trouble than it was worth and better just to buy ready-made, so I assumed it must be beyond the capability of a mere mortal like me, but it turns out it’s perfectly manageable. I’ve never tried puff pastry, nor doing anything remotely decorative, but can do pie and quiche and suchlike fairly competently. Thankyou, Delia. We may have had our differences in the past, but I will always be grateful for your technical know-how and emotional reassurance regarding pastry.

So, here is the recipe for the apple and pear pie. I’m generally rather pleased with it. It was my first time making pie with a lid, and I’m not sure I sealed the pastry properly – I hadn’t realised how much physics was involved in pie – and it was another recipe which required elaborate mental gymnastics to work out how much cups of various things weigh, but neither of these seems to have impacted on the tastiness. It’s quite sweet, because I used dessert apples rather than cookers, but this is balanced out by the enormous quantity of pastry.

Update – I was ill for a futher two days after this and I basically lived off this pie and the scones. I hold them entirely responsible for my return to health.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

